W. C. BRITT SCHOOL HISTORY
W. C. Britt Elementary School for grades one through five opened in August 1969. Located at 2503 Skyland Drive, Snellville, it was the only elementary school within the city limits of Snellville. The one-story red-brick building sits on 15.26 acres purchased on October 16th, 1967, from Wayne H. and James D. Mason for the sum of $40,000. The original owner of the property was James Sawyer, one of the founders of the city of Snellville.
The school, consisting of 26 classrooms, two main halls, three cross halls, two walk-through courtyards, a lunchroom, a library, administrative offices, and a lobby, was built for approximately $525,000. The engineers were James and Associates. Jacobs and Matthews were the architects and the contractor was Scott-Robinson Co.
W. C. Britt Elementary School was named for educator William Clifford Britt. The son of Andrew Nelson Britt and Louisa Hazelrigs Britt, W. C. Britt was born on May 10th, 1889 near Norcross in Gwinnett County. He moved with his family to the Snellville area as a young child.
W. C. Britt attended Perry Rainey Institute in Auburn, Georgia, and received an AB degree and a BS degree in agriculture from the University of Georgia. He married Bernice Maddox of Lawrenceville. Their four children are Martha Lou Britt Jones, Helen Britt Powell, Laurie Britt, and Clark Britt.
Mr. Britt began his teaching career at the age of 18. He taught at Oak Shade, Grayson, Centerville, and Reed Creek in Hart County. He was a long-time principal of Snellville High School. He worked with the War Foods Administration during World War II. He was employed by the State Department of Education from 1956-62, at which time he retired. He spent 53 years in education-related work.
A well-respected community and civic leader, beloved principal, and friend, William Clifford Britt died on August 4, 1967.
To read more about the rich history of W. C. Britt Elementary School click here!