Assessments in Elementary School

  • The GCPS assessment program gives teachers, parents, and the school system a look at all the pieces that create a comprehensive picture of a student’s learning throughout the year. Only a small amount of time— ranging from as little as one hour up to two hours— is actually spent testing on a given test day.

  • GCPS Formative Assessments

    Formative assessments in GCPS are check-ups, which give the teacher an opportunity to see how well each student understands the curriculum, and what adjustments, if any, might be needed to help students acquire the knowledge and skills they need.

    District Pre-tests Grades 1–5

    Measures student knowledge of Academic Knowledge and Skills (AKS) prior to instruction

    District Interims (given at 9 weeks and 27 weeks) Grades 1–5

    Measures student performance of AKS at the midpoint of the semester

  • GCPS Summative Assessments

    Summative assessments in GCPS measure achievement across all content areas. They help teachers and schools see students’ growth and learning throughout the year.

    Student Performance Goals (SPGs) Grades PreK–5

    Measures student growth from pre- to post- assessment in non-state-tested subjects

    Mid-year and End of Year District Assessment Grades 1–5

    Measures student mastery of AKS

    Curriculum Embedded Performance Tasks Grade 4

    Measures critical thinking and problem-solving skills in Language Arts and Mathematics.

  • Georgia Summative Assessments

    State summative assessments measure achievement of the state standards in Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, and Social Studies (depending on the grade level).

    Georgia Kindergarten Inventory of Developing Skills (GKIDS) Kindergarten

    Determines developing knowledge and skills of the Georgia Performance Standards (GPS)

    Georgia Milestones–End of Grade (EOG) Assessments Grades 3–5

    Measures knowledge of Georgia Standards of Excellence in Language Arts and Mathematics (3-5) Science and Social Studies (Grade 5 only)

    ACCESS for English Language Learners (ELLs)

    All grades Measures English language proficiency

    Georgia Alternate Assessment (GAA) Grades K, 3–5

    Assesses students with cognitive disabilities on state standards

  • Norm-Referenced Assessments

    Norm-referenced assessments give students, parents, and the school an opportunity to see how each student is performing compared to a hypothetical “average” student, based on data collected from students taking the same test in the same grade throughout the nation. These assessments are not used for grading or promotion; however they help schools and teachers gain further insight into student learning.

    Cognitive Abilities Test (CogAT) Grades 1, 2, and 5

    Assesses verbal, quantitative, and non-verbal abilities

    Iowa Assessment Grades 2 and 5

    Measures achievement in core content areas (Grade 2 does not participate in Science or Social Studies)